Zur Startseite  
Event Search

Absolument moderne!
22. September - 25. February 09:00 - 17:00

Category: Exhibition
Von Tieren, die träumen. Holzschnitte von Franca Bartholomäi
03. November - 28. January

Category: Exhibition


 Send mail  | Guestbook  | Sitemap  | printable version |   |    | Das Gutenberg-Museum auf Facebook Hier twittert das Museum Hier RSS-Feed des Museums abonnieren | 23.07.2017
You are here :  Museum >  Mainz City Printers > 

Mainz City Printer Prize

Since autumn 1987, the Mainz City Printer Prize has been bestowed on several graphic artists, printers, or typographers for their outstanding work and development of different aspects in the field of printing. The Mainz City Printer Prize, which was established pursuant to a resolution of the Mainz City Council, is awarded every two years (initially every year). The prize giving ceremony takes place at the Gutenberg-Museum in Mainz.


There must be some close relationship between the eligible candidates and the City of Mainz. The City Printer receives prize money in the amount of € 6,000 and presents his work in a special exhibition at the Gutenberg-Museum in Mainz.


With this award the City of Mainz aims to recall Johannes Gutenberg’s invention of printing with movable types, an invention which had its beginnings in Mainz and which can be considered as one of mankind’s greatest achievements.


Mainz City Printers in Chronologial Order


Angela Glajcar

18th Mainz City Printer 2014/2015




Sandra Heinz

17th Mainz City Printer 2012/2013


Philipp Hennevogl

16th Mainz City Printer 2010/2011


Nikolas Hönig

15th Mainz City Printer 2008/2009


Katharina Fischborn

14th Mainz City Printer 2006/2007


Nikola Jaensch

13th Mainz City Printer 2004/2005


Barbara Beisinghoff

12th Mainz City Printer 2002/2003


Claus Laubscher

11th Mainz City Printer 2000/2001


Heike Negenborn

10th Mainz City Printer 1998/1999


Beate Emde

9th Mainz City Printer 1996//1997


Michael Rausch

8th Mainz City Printer 1995


Bettina van Haaren

7th Mainz City Printer 1994


Alfonso Mannella

6th Mainz City Printer 1993


Markus Guthörl

5th Mainz City Printer 1992


Volker Pape

4th Mainz City Printer 1991


Michaela Karch

3rd Mainz City Printer 1990


Robert Schwarz

2nd Mainz City Printer 1989


Karlheinz Oswald

1st Mainz City Printer 1988


Current Winner: Angela Glajcar 18th Mainz City Printer 2014/15

Angela Glajcar, who was born in Mainz in 1970, is a German sculptor. From 1991 to 1998, she studied sculpture under Tim Scott at the Akademie der Bildenden Künste [Academy of Fine Arts] in Nuremberg where she has been master student since 1996. Angela Glajcar lives and works in Nieder-Olm. She had teaching jobs at the Ademie der Bildenden Künste [Academy of Fine Arts] in Nuremberg, the Mainz University of Applied Sciences and the universities in Giessen and Dortmund from 1998 to 2004. Furthermore she was a visititing professor at the Giessen University in 2007 and 2008.

Angela Clajcar was awarded the Vordemberge-Gildewart Scholarship in 2004 and won numerous other awards such as the Emy Roeder Award in 2005 and the  ZVAB Phönix Art Award in 2006.

Share |

> News-Archiv
Press Relations

... Hier finden Sie Presseinformationen über das Gutenberg-Museum

top | Gutenberg-Museum Mainz - Liebfrauenplatz 5 - 55116 Mainz | Impressum | © 2008